New York Giants 2012 Schedule Released: 2nd Half Once Again Full of Playoff Teams

The NFL has released their schedule for the 2012 season, and the New York Giants have once again found themselves with a brutal second half.

The defending Super Bowl champions’ final 11 games are either divisional opponents or 2011 playoff teams. It is clearer than ever the NFL wishes to have important games at the end of the year in order to drive their ratings.

I’ve been saying all off season the Giants will have to improve in order to even make the playoffs in 2012. They haven’t done much in terms of free agency, but could look to better themselves in the draft by improving their offensive line and possibly finding replacements for those casualties of free agency.

Here is the full schedule provided by the NY Daily News’ Ralph Vacchiano.

Week 1: vs. Dallas Cowboys
Wednesday, Sept. 5, 8:30 p.m., NBC

Week 2: vs. Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Sunday, Sept. 16, 1 p.m., FOX

Week 3: at Carolina Panthers
Thursday, Sept. 20, 8:20 p.m

Week 4: at Philadelphia Eagles
Sunday, Sept. 30, 8:20 p.m., NBC

Week 5: vs. Cleveland Browns
Sunday, Oct. 7, 1 p.m. CBS

Week 6: at San Francisco 49ers
Sunday, Oct. 14, 4:15 p.m., FOX

Week 7: vs. Washington Redskins
Sunday, Oct. 21, 1 p.m., FOX

Week 8: at Dallas Cowboys
Sunday, Oct. 28, 4:15 p.m., FOX

Week 9: vs. Pittsburgh Steelers
Sunday, Nov. 4, 4:15 p.m., CBS

Week 10: at Cincinnati Bengals
Sunday, Nov. 11, 1 p.m., FOX

Week 11: BYE

Week 12: vs. Green Bay Packers
Sunday, Nov. 25, 8:20 p.m., NBC *

Week 13: at Washington Redskins
Monday, Dec. 3, 8:30 p.m., ESPN

Week 14: vs.New Orleans Saints
Sunday, Dec. 9, 4:15 p.m., FOX *

Week 15: at Atlanta Falcons
Sunday, Dec. 16, 1 p.m., FOX *

Week 16: at Baltimore Ravens
Sunday, Dec. 23, 1 p.m., FOX *

Week 17: vs. Philadelphia Eagles
Sunday, Dec. 30, 1 p.m., FOX *

The NFL showed the Giants much love by giving them five prime time games. That should be expected for the defending champions. The Giants begin their title defense on a Wednesday, and will have a hell of a time doing so with one of the league’s toughest schedule at first glance.

Related Articles

New York Jets 2012 Schedule

New England Patriots 2012 Schedule

Chicago Bears 2012 Schedule

Tennessee Titans 2012 Schedule

Denver Broncos 2012 Schedule

San Diego Chargers 2012 Schedule

Minnesota Vikings 2012 Schedule

Buffalo Bills 2012 Schedule

Houston Texans 2012 Schedule

St. Louis Rams 2012 Schedule

Jacksonville Jaguars 2012 Schedule

 

Questions or comments can be sent to jeff.shull@rantsports.com

Follow Jeff on Twitter @Jeff_Shull


Around the Web