A Look at the Houston Texans 53 Man Roster

By Corey Walker

The Houston Texans made some more moves today to set their season opening 53 man roster. There was pretty much only one surprise, the last move last night when they cut backup FS Troy Nolan. Nolan, who was entering his third season with the Texans, was quickly signed today by the Miami Dolphins, who the Texans open the season with next Sunday. The Texans kept 4 safeties with second year player Shiloh Keo getting the call over Nolan. Keo’s presence on special teams is probably what gave him the nod in the eyes of the coaches.

Also WR/KR Trindon Holliday made the season opening roster for the first time in his three seasons with the team. He spent his rookie season on IR and last season on the practice squad. He was pretty much a lock to make the active roster this time after capping an outstanding preseason with his third return TD in four games in the finale vs. the Minnesota Vikings. The 5-5 Holliday will serve as the primary return specialist and will also be the sixth wide receiver on the squad.

The Texans also made another move Saturday, waiving G Shelly Smith. This put the roster at 52, with the team reserving the 53rd spot for veteran OT Ryan Harris, who was waived by the Denver Broncos. Harris will take a physical on Sunday, and assuming he passes, will occupy the 53rd spot on the team. The Texans were in need of a backup swing tackle after T Rashad Butler was lost for the season with a torn triceps in the game vs. the Vikings. That was a tough break for Butler as this is the second consecutive season he has been lost early due to a torn right triceps. Harris is a good fit on the Texans offensive line because he comes from the same zone blocking scheme in Denver that the Texans’ offense employs.

Here is a position by position breakdown of the 52, but soon to be 53, man roster.

QB(3) – Matt Schaub, T.J. Yates, John Beck

RB(3) – Arian Foster, Ben Tate, Justin Forsett

FB(2) – James Casey, Tyler Clutts

WR(6) – Andre Johnson, Kevin Walter, Lestar Jean, Keshawn Martin, Devier Posey, Trindon Holliday

TE(2) – Owen Daniels, Garrett Graham

OL(8) – Duane Brown, Wade Smith, Chris Meyers, Antoine Caldwell, Derek Newton, Brandon Brooks, Andrew Gardner, Ben Jones, (pending – Ryan Harris will make 9)

DL(6) – J. J. Watt, Shaun Cody, Antonio Smith, Earl Mitchell, Tim Jamison, Jared Crick

LB(9) – Connor Barwin, Bradie James, Brian Cushing, Brooks Reid, Tim Dobbins, Mister Alexander, Bryan Braman, Jesse Nading, Whitney Mercilus

DB(10) – Johnathan Joseph, Kareem Jackson, Glover Quin Jr., Daniel Manning, Brice McCain, Brandon Harris, Quintin Demps, Alan Ball, Roc Carmichael, Shiloh Keo

K/P/LS(3) – Shayne Graham, Donnie Jones, Jonathan Weeks

You May Also Like