New Orleans Saints Announce 2012 Practice Squad

By Alejandro Aviles

After announcing their final cuts last week the New Orleans Saints announced who they have selected to be on their practice squad this past weekend.

The Saints’ practice squad will consist of WR Andy Tanner, TE Michael Higgins, CB Nick Hixson, S Jerico Nelson, LB Ezra Butler, G Ricky Henry, G Harland Gunn, and DE Braylon Boughton.

After a few surprises with their final cuts I think the Saints have established a good practice squad. I had no complaints with the Saints’ final cuts but was surprised that Tanner and Higgins did not make the 53-man roster.

Tanner might have made the final roster if he had not gotten injured during the preseason but he is a reliable receiver to have on the practice squad. Higgins was expected to be the third tight end but once veteran tight end Daniel Graham came in he made a big enough impression to claim the number three tight end spot.

Hixson was a long shot to make the 53-man roster but it is great that he was able to secure a spot on the practice squad. Hixson was impressing down the stretch in the preseason but the Saints secondary was all but set when he came along. Hixson will allow the Saints to have another tough cornerback to practice with and he can help the team in that sense.

Now that the Saints’ 53-man roster and practice squad are set they can now focus all of their attention on September 9 for the start of the regular season. The Saints open at home against the Washington Redskins.

The Redskins will be a good first test for the Saints’ defense as they will square off against number two overall pick Robert Griffin III. If the Saints can slow down Griffin I know the Saints’ dynamic offense will be able to handle the rest.


Alejandro Aviles is the Featured Writer for the New Orleans Saints at Rant Sports.

You can follow him on Twitter @aaviles312

You May Also Like