Philadelphia Eagles Lead NFL in Salary Cap Space

By Bryn Swartz

The Philadelphia Eagles have made a lot of headlines over the past two offseasons with all of their big-name free agent signings.

Over the past two seasons, the Eagles have handed out the following contracts or contract extensions:
– Quarterback Michael Vick: six years, $100 million
– Cornerback Nnamdi Asomugha: five years, $60 million
– Wide receiver DeSean Jackson: five years, $51 million
– Defensive end Trent Cole: four years, $51 million
– Running back LeSean McCoy: five years, $45 million
– Defensive end Jason Babin: five years, $28 million
– Left guard Evan Mathis: five years, $25 million
– Defensive tackle Cullen Jenkins: five years, $25 million
– Right tackle Todd Herremans: three years, $21 million

That’s a lot of money for a lot of big-name players. There’s not a player on that list who doesn’t have a pretty good chance to make the Pro Bowl this season.

Yet despite all of their spending recently, the Eagles actually have the most money available in cap space, according to a report on Pro Football Talk.

The Eagles currently have $21.4 million available in free space, just edging out the Jacksonville Jaguars, who have $20.7 million available, for the most in the league.

I continue to be impressed by management for the Eagles, which is as good as it gets for spending money. General manager Howie Roseman may have angered a few players on the team when he signed all those big-name free agents during the 2011 offseason, but he righted that wrong this past summer when he inked Jackson, McCoy, Herremans, Mathis, and Cole to contract extensions.

Players due for a large contract after the 2012 season include wide receiver Jeremy Maclin, center Jason Kelce, and cornerback Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie.

This article was written by Bryn Swartz, the top writer for the Philadelphia Eagles and a featured NFL columnist on Rant Sports. Bryn has written more than 1000 articles in less than two years as a member of Rant Sports. His blog, Eagles Central, was named the 2010 Ballhyped Sports Blog of the Year. You can follow Bryn on Twitter by clicking here and here. To read a portfolio of Bryn’s best work, click here.

You May Also Like