A Look at the Miami Dolphins All-Super Bowl Squad

By Craig Ballard

Happy Super Bowl XLVII Sunday to you! Today’s Miami Dolphins article is a look at their all-time Super Bowl squad. I know it is hard to imagine these days, but the Dolphins have been in five Super Bowl’s and they have won two and lost three.

At quarterback we have Bob Griese who went 2-1 in the big game despite hardily throwing the football at all (different time, different era). Griese combined to go 14 for 18 and accumulated just 161 passing yards in his two Super Bowl wins with one touchdown and one interception. Griese was at the helm of the Dolphins Super Bowl VI loss to the Dallas Cowboys where he was 12 for 23 for 134 yards and an interception. Super Bowl XVII was a brutal day as David Woodley and Don Strock combined for a putrid 4 for 17 for 97 yards. FYI Dan Marino was 29 for 50 for 318 yards with a touchdown and two picks in his only Super Bowl game (for article on why I consider Marino the greatest quarterback ever CLICK HERE)

Jim Kick and Larry Csonka each scored a pair of Super Bowl touchdowns, and Csonka went north of 100 rushing yards in two of his three Super Bowl appearances (Csonka totaled 57 carries for 297 yards which is a 5.2 yards per carry average). Csonka played in the 1972, 1973 and 1974 Super Bowl (’73 was the culmination of the 1972 perfect season) and those teams were team-first squads but the Hall Of Fame Csonka stood out as their star.

At the wide receiver spot the Dolphins have Jimmy Cefalo who caught three passes over two Super Bowls and one of those went for a 76 yard touchdown. Tony Nathan caught 10 passes for 83 yards, and Mark Clayton nabbed six passes for 92 yards.

On defense guys like Doug Betters, Vern Den Herder, Bill Stanfill, Bob Baumhower, Larry Gordon and Earnest Rhone have all recorded a Super Bowl sack, and Manny Fernandez earned a sack in each of his two Super Bowl games (both were Dolphins victories). Curtis Johnson, Nick Buoniconti, Lyle Blackwood and A.J. Duhe all had one interception in the big game, and Jake Scott recorded a pair of picks in Super Bowl VII. Fulton Walker had a special teams touchdown in Super Bowl in a losing cause in SB XVII.

The current Dolphins are a long way from playing in February, and their last playoff win was waaaay back in 2000 so I wanted to do an article today that reminded us of happier days!

Craig Ballard is a NFL/NBA/MLB writer for RantSports.com. Follow  him on Twitter @craigballard77, and you can find all of his NFL articles HERE

You May Also Like