Oakland Raiders: Tim Brown denied Hall of Fame entry

By Jeremy Hayes
Kirby Lee – US Presswire

The Hall of Fame inductees have been announced once again and will feature some great names, but none of those names will be former Oakland Raiders wide receiver Tim Brown.

Brown, a nine-time Pro-Bowler, was over-looked by the NFL Hall of Fame, and will have to wait another year to have a shot at that beige jacket.

Even though Warren Sapp was a Raider, he will be remembered for winning with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. Brown is tied for third for all-time receiving touchdowns, which means he without a doubt he should be in the Hall of Fame.

Why not this year?

No clue. Like all Hall of Fame classes, it is all a weird system of determining who gets in at what time. If you are a hall of fame player, there should be no doubt. This whole political system of “not a first ballot” hall of fame player, if you are one of the best, there should be no question about getting in.

This year’s Hall of Fame will consist of Sapp, Bill Parecells, Larry Allen, Jonathan Ogden, Cris Carter, Curley Culp, and Dave Robinson.

Looking at this class, it is not as if none of these players (or coach) don’t deserve to be in the Hall of Fame, it’s just that Brown obviously  has the numbers to receive entry.

Other snubs were Michael Strahan, Jerome Bettis, Andre Reed, and Will Shields to name a few.

Raider fans will have to wait another year for one of their players to get a Hall of Fame nod.

You May Also Like