The 15 Best Coaches to Never Win a Super Bowl

1 of 16

Super Bowl 48

Joe Camporeale-USA TODAY Sports

29 NFL head coaches have been victorious in the "biggest game in the history of western civilization."

It's tough to win a Super Bowl. Talented players playing perfectly in all three phases of football and the luck of the bounce will determine a team's success towards the Lombardi Trophy.

Winning the Super Bowl cements a coach's legacy, not just the players', and helps boost the resume towards the Hall of Fame. Some of the greats who donned the headsets have won the Super Bowl.

This fraternity includes the likes of Bill Belichick, Chuck Noll, Bill Walsh, Tom Landry and Vince Lombardi.

This list talks about none of these immortals.

Instead, this list talks about those great head coaches that have not won the Super Bowl. Some of the greatest coaches have failed to win the Super Bowl, either through their own faults or were unfortunate to be around in an era dominated by some of the greatest teams ever assembled.

My criteria for the list of the top 15 coaches to never win a Super Bowl goes as follows:

Every coach on the list had to have at least a three-year span in the Super Bowl era, so George Halas is not in this discussion.

Coaching in the biggest game doesn't automatically earn a top ranking.

Some rankings may surprise you, while some in the coming weeks or years might take their names off this "infamous" list.

With all this being said, here are my top 15 NFL head coaches who have never won the Super Bowl.

Brian Kalchik is a writer for Follow him on twitter @BrianKalchik, like him on Facebook or connect with him on Google.

2 of 16

15. Jim Mora Sr.

Jim Mora Sr.
Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

He had five winning seasons in first seven years with the New Orleans Saints, a team that had zero winning seasons in their first 20 years of existence. Mora started the growth of Peyton Manning with the Indianapolis Colts towards a future Hall of Fame career.

Mora was winless in six playoff appearances with the Saints and Colts.

3 of 16

14. Pete Carroll

Pete Carroll
Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

Carroll has the opportunity to be taken off this list with a victory in Super Bowl 48.

In Carroll's eight seasons as head coach with the New York Jets, New England Patriots and the Seattle Seahawks, he has compiled a 71-57 record overall with a 5-4 mark in postseason play.

4 of 16

13. Bum Phillips

Bum Phillips
Thomas Campbell-USA TODAY Sports

The Houston Oilers of the late 1970s under Phillips had the misfortune of being in the same division as the Pittsburgh Steelers' dynasty. The team reached consecutive AFC Championship Game appearances in 1978 and 1979, both losses to Pittsburgh.

In 12 seasons as head coach of both the Houston Oilers and New Orleans Saints, Phillips earned an 82-77 record with a 4-3 mark in the postseason.

5 of 16

12. John Fox

John Fox
Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports

John Fox lost Super Bowl 38 to the New England Patriots as the former head coach of the Carolina Panthers, but he has a chance to be off this list with a win in Super Bowl 48.

In 12 seasons coaching the Carolina Panthers and the Denver Broncos, Fox has a 107-85 record with an 8-5 record in the postseason.

6 of 16

11. Jeff Fisher

Jeff Fisher
Steven Bisig-USA TODAY Sports

Fisher came up one yard short of chance to tie the St. Louis Rams in Super Bowl 34 as head coach of the Tennessee Titans.

Fisher's postseason record is 5-6 and 156-137-1 overall with the Houston Oilers, Tennessee Titans and the St. Louis Rams.

7 of 16

10. Chuck Knox

Chuck Knox
Casey Sapio-USA TODAY Sports

Knox coached 22 seasons for the Los Angeles Rams, Buffalo Bills and the Seattle Seahawks.

Knox's overall record is 186-147-1 with a career 7-11 record in postseason, but he never reached a Super Bowl.

8 of 16

9. Jim Harbaugh

Jim Harbaugh
Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

Harbaugh has reached the NFC championship in all of his three seasons as head coach of the San Francisco 49ers.

He lost Super Bowl 47 to brother John Harbaugh and the Baltimore Ravens, but he boasts a 36-11-1 overall record and 5-3 mark in the postseason.

9 of 16

8. Dan Reeves

Dan Reeves
Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

Reeves reached three Super Bowls in the 1980s with the Denver Broncos but lost all three of those games.

He appeared in Super Bowl 33 with the Atlanta Falcons and lost to John Elway and the Broncos. In 23 seasons, Reeves was 190-165-2 as a head coach of the Broncos, New York Giants and Falcons.

10 of 16

7. Andy Reid

Andy Reid
Andrew Weber-USA TODAY Sports

Reid reached four consecutive NFC Championship games from 2001-04 with the Philadelphia Eagles. He reached the big game once and lost to New England in Super Bowl 39.

He turned around a Kansas City Chiefs team that was 2-14 into an 11-5 team, but they blew a 28-point lead in a Wild-Card loss to Indianapolis.

Reid is 141-98-1 in 15 seasons with the Eagles and Chiefs with a 10-10 record in the postseason.

11 of 16

6. Marty Schottenheimer

Marty Schottenheimer
Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

Schottenheimer has 200 wins and 126 losses to his record but only finished with a 5-13 record in the postseason.

Despite having great regular season teams, Schottenheimer never reached a Super Bowl in his 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns, Kansas City Chiefs, Washington Redskins and the San Diego Chargers.

12 of 16

5. Bud Grant

Bud Grant
Brace Hemmelgarn-USA TODAY Sports

Grant reached four Super Bowls in the 1970s but lost all four.

He finished 158-96-5 in 18 seasons, all with the Minnesota Vikings, and had a 10-12 record in the postseason. Grant was the first head coach to appear in four Super Bowls.

13 of 16

4. George Allen

George Allen
Brace Hemmelgarn-USA TODAY Sports

Allen was 116-47-5 in 12 seasons with the Los Angeles Rams and the Washington Redskins.

He lost Super Bowl seven to the undefeated 1972 Miami Dolphins. He had a 2-7 overall record in postseason with both wins coming in the 1972 Super Bowl runner-up finish.

14 of 16

3. Marv Levy

Marv Levy
Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

Levy is the only head coach to appear in four consecutive Super Bowls and lost all four from 1990-1993.

Levy's 17-year record as head coach of the Kansas City Chiefs and Buffalo Bills is 143-112 and an 11-8 mark in the postseason, all with Buffalo.

15 of 16

2. Paul Brown

Paul Brown
Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

Paul Brown won seven championships, all in the AFC and the NFL before the Super Bowl with the Cleveland Browns.

As coach of the Cincinnati Bengals, Brown took an expansion team to playoffs but never reached a conference championship game from 1968-75. He went 55-56-1 in eight season with the Bengals, but his previous success in Cleveland charts Brown at No. 2 here.

16 of 16

1. Don Coryell

Don Coryell
Melina Vastola-USA TODAY Sports

This man created the "Air Coryell" offense that led San Diego to consecutive AFC championship game appearances in 1980 and 1981. He turned the St. Louis Cardinals of the mid 1970s into playoff contenders.

His record was only 3-6 in postseason and 111-83 overall.