Former Buffalo Bills WR Andre Reed's Hall Fame Induction Long Overdue

By Ryan Womeldorf
Andre Reed
Kevin Hoffman-USA TODAY Sports

It took far longer than expected, but the incredible Buffalo Bills teams of the 1990s have another Hall of Fame member.

Receiver Andre Reed will be the 10th member of the Bills in the Hall of Fame and joins teammates from those 1990s teams like quarterback Jim Kelly, running back Thurman Thomas, receiver James Lofton and defensive end Bruce Smith as well as his coach Marv Levy.

Reed joins Michael Strahan, Walter Jones, Derrick Brooks, Aeneas Williams, Claude Humphrey and Ray Guy in this year’s class. He had been a finalist the past eight years and finally got over the hump.

For the last several years there had been a “logjam” at receiver. But with the induction of Cris Carter last year, room may have been created for the Bills great. He beat out fellow longtime finalist Tim Brown and newcomer Marvin Harrison, who many felt would be inducted because if his superior stats. Perhaps with Carter and Reed in those two will not be waiting long to hear their names called.

Reed was a part of Buffalo’s “big three” during their historic run in the early part of the 1990s. Combined with Kelly and Thomas, they were one of the most dynamic offenses in NFL history and went on an unprecedented run of four straight Super Bowl appearances. Unfortunately, they failed to come up with a win which has come be their identity since.

Still, Reed was one of the NFL’s best for nearly his entire career and his contributions can’t be measured. He was a legend for the Bills and will now rightfully take his place among the immortals in Canton.

Congratulations, Andre Reed. It’s about time.

You May Also Like