Houston Texans Schedule 2014: Number 1 Pick To Playoff Contention?

Brett Davis-USA TODAY Sports

Brett Davis-USA TODAY Sports

Heading into the 2014 season, the Houston Texans are a team in transition. They are currently riding a 14-game losing streak, and are on the clock with the first overall pick in the upcoming 2014 NFL Draft. First year head coach Bill O’Brien has a lot of questions to answer, especially at the quarterback position.

By finishing in last place within the AFC South, on paper Houston figures to have an easier schedule, which was released today, heading into the 2014 campaign. Here’s your first look at the Texans’ slate of games for this upcoming season.

Week 1: vs Washington Redskins, Sunday, Sept 7 at 1pm Eastern

Week 2: @ Oakland Raiders, Sunday, Sept 14 at 4:25pm Eastern

Week 3: @ New York Giants, Sunday, Sept 21 at 1pm Eastern

Week 4: vs Buffalo Bills, Sunday, Sept 28 at 1pm Eastern

Week 5: @ Dallas Cowboys, Sunday, Oct 5 at 1pm Eastern

Week 6: vs Indianapolis Colts, Thursday, Oct 9 at 8:25pm Eastern

Week 7: @ Pittsburgh Steelers, Monday, Oct 20 at 8:30pm Eastern

Week 8: @ Tennessee Titans, Sunday, Oct 26 at 1pm Eastern

Week 9: vs Philadelphia Eagles, Sunday, Nov 2 at 1pm Eastern

Week 10: BYE Week

Week 11: @ Cleveland Browns, Sunday, Nov 16 at 1pm Eastern

Week 12: vs Cincinnati Bengals, Sunday, Nov 23 at 1pm Eastern

Week 13: vs Tennessee Titans, Sunday, Nov 30 at 1pm Eastern

Week 14: @ Jacksonville Jaguars, Sunday, Dec 7 at 1pm Eastern

Week 15: @ Indianapolis Colts, Sunday, Dec 14 at 1pm Eastern

Week 16: vs Baltimore Ravens, Sunday, Dec 21 at 1pm Eastern

Week 17: vs Jacksonville Jaguars, Sunday, Dec 28 at 1pm Eastern

For Houston, the potential is there for a bounce-back year. They have a late-season bye week, end the season with their final two games at home, and two of their final four games are very winnable against the Jaguars. A playoff blueprint from having the number one pick can also be taken from the Kansas City Chiefs, who turned the trick last season.

If the Texans can also stay healthy, look for them to potentially find a rythm in the middle part of the season as well. They have a home game against Buffalo, a team they should match up well against, the in-state rivalry game against Dallas, and they will have extra rest going into their lone Monday night game of the season at Pittsburgh. After a divisional game to comprise their Thursday night requirement, Houston will have a long layoff to rest up and prepare for the Monday night lights, which will be beneficial.

Prior to last season, the Texans were viewed as a possible Super Bowl contender. Now, after a dreadful 2013 campaign, Houston will have fewer eyes on them with fewer expectations. If the bounces go their way, Houston could be right back in the playoff mix come

December. The 2014 schedule is favorable, which just puts that much more pressure on the number one pick in a few weeks time.

Nick Schaeflein is a Sports writer for RantSports.com. Follow him on Twitter @ptchr2424 or add him to your network on Google.


Around the Web