X

Have feedback / suggestions? Let us know!

NFL Washington Redskins

Washington Redskins 2014 Schedule: Team Destined for Bounce-Back Year?

Redskins

Brace Hemmelgarn – USA TODAY Sports

After a dismal 3-13 2013 season, the Washington Redskins have nowhere to go but up.  But how far will they bounce back in 2014? The NFL scheduling system makes a bounce-back year a definite possibility. Indeed, the scheduling system is one of the reasons why the Redskins skidded to 3-13 following a first place 10-6 record in 2012.

Last season the Redskins faced a first-place schedule so that part of their schedule was comprised of playing first-place teams — based on 2012 records — in their conference.  The 2014 schedule helps the Redskins because the ‘Skins face a last-place schedule in 2014. This gives the Redskins opponents such as other 2013 last place teams like the Minnesota Vikings, Tampa Bay Buccaneers, and St. Louis Rams.

The schedule, combined with general parity in the NFC East and new offensive weapon DeSean Jackson – who could widen the field for Robert Griffin III and the ‘Skins’ offense — should whet Redskin fans’ appetite during the long off-season. Here’s a look at Washington’s schedule that was just released today.

Week 1: @ Houston Texans, Sunday, Sept 7 at 1PM Eastern

Week 2: vs Jacksonville Jaguars, Sunday, Sept 14 at 1PM Eastern

Week 3: @ Philadelphia Eagles, Sunday, Sept 21 at 1PM Eastern

Week 4: vs New York Giants, Thursday, Sept 25 at 8:25PM Eastern

Week 5: vs. Seattle Seahawks, Monday, Oct 6 at 8:30PM Eastern

Week 6: @ Arizona Cardinals, Sunday, Oct 12 at 4:25PM Eastern

Week 7: vs Tennessee Titans, Sunday, Oct 19 at 1PM Eastern

Week 8: @ Dallas Cowboys, Monday, Oct 27 at 8:30PM Eastern

Week 9: @ Minnesota Vikings, Sunday, Nov 2 at 1PM Eastern

Week 10: Bye Week

Week 11: vs Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Sunday, Nov 16 at 1PM Eastern

Week 12: @ San Francisco 49ers, Sunday, Nov 23 at 4:25PM Eastern

Week 13: @ Indianapolis Colts, Sunday, Nov 30 at 1PM Eastern

Week 14: vs St. Louis Rams, Sunday, Dec 7 at 1PM Eastern

Week 15: @ New York Giants, Sunday, Dec 14 at 1PM Eastern

Week 16: vs Philadelphia Eagles, Saturday, Dec 20 at 4:30PM Eastern

Week 17: vs Dallas Cowboys, Sunday, Dec 28 at 1PM Eastern

The Redskins’ first two opponents of the season combined for a 6-26 record last year, so hopefully the ‘Skins can build up some confidence before facing the Eagles and Giants in Week 3 and 4.

One interesting bit about the schedule is that Week 4 gives the Redskins just four days between a Sunday game at Philadelphia before hosting the Giants at home on Thursday, Sept 25. Luckily, this is early in the season so that the team is hopefully still fresh and relatively injury-free.

Carlton Chin is a portfolio manager, quant researcher, and sports analysis contributor at Rant Sports. Please follow him on Twitter @QuantFacts, “Like” him on Facebook, or add him to your Google network.

For the best deals on all preseason and regular season games for the 2014 Washington Redskins schedule, visit TiqIQ.com