Green Bay Packers Schedule 2015: Super Bowl Bound is a Legitimate Possibility

By Michael Terrill
Green Bay Packers
Andrew Weber-USA TODAY Sports

The Green Bay Packers’ 2015 NFL schedule was released Tuesday night, and there is plenty of reason for excitement. There is no question the Packers will face some tough tests outside of the NFC North, but it also is quite clear Green Bay have a legitimate possibility of making an appearance in Super Bowl 50.

Week 1: Bears at Packers – Sunday, September 13, 1:00pm ET

Week 2: Seahawks at Packers – Sunday, September 20, 8:30pm ET

Week 3: Chiefs at Packers – Monday, September 28, 8:30pm ET

Week 4: Packers at 49ers – Sunday, October 4, 4:25pm ET

Week 5: Rams at Packers – Sunday, October 11, 1:00pm ET

Week 6: Chargers at Packers – Sunday, October 18, 4:25pm ET

Week 7: Bye

Week 8: Packers at Broncos – Sunday, November 1, 8:30pm ET

Week 9: Packers at Panthers – Sunday, November 8, 1:00pm ET

Week 10: Lions at Packers – Sunday, November 15, 1:00pm ET

Week 11: Packers at Vikings – Sunday, November 22, 1:00pm ET

Week 12: Bears at Packers (Thanksgiving) – Thursday, November 26, 8:30pm ET

Week 13: Packers at Lions – Thursday, December 3, 8:25pm ET

Week 14: Cowboys at Packers – Sunday, December 13, 4:25pm ET

Week 15: Packers at Raiders – Sunday, December 20, 4:05pm ET

Week 16: Packers at Cardinals – Sunday, December 27, 4:25pm ET

Week 17: Vikings at Packers – Sunday, January 3, 1:00pm ET

The contest that stands out the most is the Packers hosting the Chicago Bears on Thanksgiving night. Besides the fact that it is a primetime game featuring the NFL’s oldest rivalry, it also will be the contest in which the Packers honor legendary quarterback Brett Favre’s retired No. 4. In a ceremony that could be one of the most watched televised moments of the season, the Lambeau faithful will get one chance to give Favre the emotional sendoff he deserves.

What also stands out about the schedule is that Green Bay’s most difficult opponents have to travel to Lambeau Field, where the Packers were undefeated last season. In all honesty, the only road game outside of playing a division opponent that is worrisome is when Green Bay must face the Denver Broncos in Week 8. Other than that, their road games should be manageable.

The Packers are already a popular pick to reach the Super Bowl. Looking at the schedule is simply reassurance that it is a strong possibility they will represent the NFC 50 years after emerging victorious in Super Bowl I.

Michael Terrill is a Senior Writer for Rant Sports. Follow him on Twitter @MichaelTerrill, “Like” him on Facebook or add him to your network on Google.

You May Also Like