Video: Watch the ECHL Goal that Should of Never Counted

I’ve watched a lot of sports in my life and can say that I’ve seen just about everything but just when I thought I’ve seen it all, something comes along that leaves me shaking my head. What is even worse is the incident should have never happened and was purely the product of an official turning a blind-eye to their own stupidity.

Such was the case in a hockey game between the South Carolina Stingrays and the Florida Everblades of the ECHL. The Stingrays were on the power play trailing 2-0 in the second period of a game on Friday night, when South Carolina defenseman Zach Tarkir clipped the back of his own net jarring it loose.

The net popped off it’s pegs, but neither the,linesman,or the referee saw it and play continued for nearly a minute. The Stingrays goaltender Philipp Grubauer noticed the net was dislodged and backed into the goal forcing further off it’s moorings to get the attention of the officials – They failed to notice the most important part of a hockey game sitting sideways behind the goalie.

Florida broke in shorthanded and scored into the crooked goal making the score 3-0. Inexplicably the goal counted. Unfortunately, the fluke freebie backfired on the Everblades because in the end justice was served as South Carolina scored four-straight goals to pull victory from the jaws of defeat.

Can you image if that had happened in a NHL game? Most NHL fans will smash their TV set if an off-sides call is missed. A call this bad and so blatantly incorrect cannot go unpunished. At the very least the referee should forfeit a games pay or he should be sent for a refresher course or two.

Its incompetence like this that continues to give officiating a black eye.

What do you think, innocent mistake or dumb ref?

http://youtu.be/-vyz8zF43YU


Follow me on Twitter! @StevePalumboNHL

Email me at StevePalumboNHL@gmail.com

Around the Web