NHL Boston Bruins

London Knights Win Robertson Cup

The London Knights, boasting Boston Bruins 2010 draft pick Jared Knight on the roster, defeated the Niagara IceDogs 2-1 in Game 5 of the OHL Championship Series to win the title of OHL champions and the Robertson Cup. Now they go on to face the Shawinigan Cataractes, Saint John Sea Dogs and the winner of the WHL championship series in the Memorial Cup tournament.

After a scoreless first period that had seven stopped shots by both goalies, the Knights’ Austin Watson broke through and got on the board. That 1-0 score held until the third period, when Seth Griffith added another goal for London. Though Tom Kuhnhackl broke the shutout and got Niagara on the boards, it wasn’t enough to turn the tides and London won the series in five games.

The Knights last won the Robertson Cup in 2005. At that time, Corey Perry of the Anaheim Ducks was on the team and won the Wayne Gretzky 99 Trophy for playoff MVP. Watson won the 2012 award.

Though Dougie Hamilton was on the losing side of this championship, he’s still earned some recognition: he’s been named to the OHL’s First All-Star Team with 93 voting points, the most among any player.

For the Knights, the quest to raise another trophy will continue in Shawinigan, Quebec, starting on May 19. They will face the Sea Dogs, who just swept the Rimouski Oceanic (including an 8-0 win in Game 4) and earned the QMJHL’s President Cup for the second year in a row. The Sea Dogs are also the defending Memorial Cup champions, so this series could get pretty interesting.