NHL Chicago Blackhawks

Ranking Chicago Blackhawks’ 5 Stanley Cup Championships

1 of 6

Chicago Blackhawks Stanley Cup Rankings

Dennis Wierzbicki - USA TODAY Sports

The Chicago Blackhawks have been part of the NHL since 1926 as one of the Original Six teams. As one of the oldest professional clubs in the sport, they have been through many ups and downs.

In their first 40 years as a professional hockey team, they managed to claim themselves as champions three times. After their win in 1961, the Blackhawks did not again raise the trophy until the 2009-10 season.

They missed the playoffs for the first time since 1958 during the 1968 season, which was due in part to a lopsided trade with the Boston Bruins. The Blackhawks traded away three players to the Bruins, who then went on to lead the Bruins team for several years and capture two Stanley Cups.

Currently, the Blackhawks are the defending Stanley Cup Champions with their win over the Boston Bruins and have etched their name into the Stanley Cup trophy five times throughout their existence. This win was finally a little long-deserved redemption over the Bruins for that lopsided trade that occurred 43 years prior.

Fans throughout Chicago flooded the streets in a sea of red Friday for the parade dedicated to bringing the Cup home. Chants of “Blackhawks” and “On Chicago” rang through the streets as the fans awaited the championship players to ride through the streets hoisting the Cup.

This was a glorious day for players and fans, but where does the 2013 championship rank amongst the Blackhawks' five Stanley Cup Championships? In the following slides, I’ll take you through the rankings of the Blackhawks' five Stanley Cup Championships from No. 5 to No. 1.

2 of 6

No. 5: 1961

Dennis Wierzbicki - USA TODAY Sports

The Blackhawks were matched up against the Detroit Redwings in the 1961 NHL Stanley Cup Finals and were able to capture the Cup. The series changed from a best-of-five series to a best-of-seven series, and the Hawks hoisted the Cup after winning in six games. The 1961 championship team consisted of key players Bobby Hull and Stan Mikita, each were responsible for game-winning goals.

3 of 6

No. 4: 2013

Rob Grabowski - USA TODAY Sports

The Blackhawks most recent victory was a hard-fought battle all through the playoffs. Chicago was on the brink of elimination against the Red Wins but managed to rattle off three straight wins against their Original Six rival. They took down the Boston Bruins in a thriller Game 6 to win the Cup. They trailed the Bruins in the third period with 76 seconds left and scored two goals in 17 seconds to take the lead and ultimately the Cup. Chicago’s Patrick Kane was named the MVP of the playoffs.

4 of 6

No. 3: 1934

Rob Grabowski - USA TODAY Sports

The Blackhawks joined the NHL in 1926 and only took 8 years to win the Stanley Cup Finals. Granted, this was during the Original Six era, but the first Stanley Cup win is a significant one to have under your belt. The Blackhawks defeated the Red Wings in double overtime in Game 4 of the best-of-five game series. Blackhawks goalkeeper Chuck Gardiner limited Detroit to just two goals in each of Chicago’s wins. It was Gardiner’s last game, as he would pass away after the season due to a brain hemorrhage.

5 of 6

No. 2: 1938

Michael Ivins - USA TODAY Sports

The Blackhawks nearly missed the playoffs but were able to stun the Montreal Canadians and advance to the Cup Final against the Toronto Maple Leafs. Chicago goalie Mike Karakas suffered an injury and could not take the ice. Without a starting goalie, Chicago was forced to bring up a minor-league keeper to stand in front of the net in the Finals for one game, which they won. Eventually, Karakas came back to the ice win Game 3 and Game 4 with a special fitted skate and managed to pull out a win in both games. Chicago’s 11-25 record entering the playoffs is still the worst regular season record ever for a Stanley Cup champion.

6 of 6

No. 1: 2010

Michael Ivins - USA TODAY Sports

After quite a long drought without a Stanley Cup, the Blackhawks were finally able to bring the Cup back to Chicago in a 4-3 overtime win over the Philadelphia Flyers in Game 6. Captain Jonathan Toews was awarded the Most Valuable Player trophy, making him the first Blackhawks player to receive the honor. Finally winning a Stanley Cup after the longest active drought in the NHL showed Blackhawks fans that their team was finally back to championship form.