The TNA Television Championship Will Not Die.

By Maurice D. Proffit



A while back ago, we reported on Rant Sports that the TNA World Television Champion, Brother Devon decided to resign from the company. With Devon’s departure, this lead a great deal of question and speculation as to what would be in store for the TNA World Television title. There were rumors of  tournament taking place at bound for glory, or even worse, the TV championship would be completely eliminated from TNA all together.

However, per TNA, the Television championship lives. TNA Released a statement:

“Championship Thursday” returns to Impact Wrestling on Spike TV this Thursday with an added wrinkle; there is no defending champion. Negotiations between TNA’s current TV Champion Devon and TNA have been ongoing over the last month and have reached an impasse. As of today, The TNA TV Championship last held by Devon is vacated. TNA hopes that Devon returns to the active roster in the future. A new TV champion will be crowned LIVE on Impact!

Usually, in the “Championship Thursday” format, four challengers meet with IMPACT WRESTLING GM Hulk Hogan and plead their case as to why they deserve the shot at the champion. This month, one of the four men is guaranteed to be the new TV Champion! The challengers selected to compete in this “Championship Thursday” are Samoa Joe, Garett Bischoff, Magnus and Mr. Anderson. Hulk will hear these men’s arguments why they should be the one to get the title shot and then Hogan will make the hard decision of which two will face off. Tune into Spike TV at 8pt/7ct this Thursday night to see a new champion crowned.

Tune in tomorrow for an all new live edition of TNA Impact Wrestling to see the crowning of a new TV Champion. Its great to see the TV Championship will continue to carry on its long historic traditions of wrestling greatness. We’re talking Ivan Koloff, Greg Valentine, Jimmy Valiant, Dusty Rhodes, Nature Boy Ric Flair…So explain to me why Garett Bischoff is up for consideration?!


Maurice D. Proffit is a writer for Rant Sports

You May Also Like