CM Punk's Historic WWE Title Reign Reaches A New Milestone

By Damian Seeto
cm punk wwe champion
Image from

CM Punk reached another historic milestone with him becoming the first wrestler since Hulk Hogan to remain WWE Champion for a full calendar year.

This means Punk remained champion from January 1st, 2012 until December 31st, 2012. This feat has not been achieved since 1987 when Hulk Hogan was in his third consecutive year as champion.

What’s even more impressive about this reign is that 2012 was a leap year. This means Punk was champion for an extra day. This has not been achieved since 1980 when Bob Backlund was champion.

It will be interesting to see who finally gets to dethrone Punk as champion. WWE officials were thinking of making Ryback champion back in October, although they ultimately stuck with Punk as they already booked him to face off against The Rock at the Royal Rumble PPV.

Lots of people are predicting that Punk’s reign will end with The Rock winning the title and then facing off against John Cena at WrestleMania 29 in a rematch of last year. However, The Rock may not have enough time to become WWE Champion as he might have to promote the many movies he will be releasing instead. It won’t make much sense having a champion that doesn’t even appear on the shows each and every week.

With ratings going down and PPV buyrates also low, the WWE might do something drastic and let The Rock become champion anyway. It’s been over 10 years now since he’s been champion and he might give the company even extra publicity lugging around the WWE title around in Hollywood.

We’ll just have to find out and see what happens at the Royal Rumble to see of Punk’s historic reign ends or continues.

You May Also Like