Someone New Should Win The 2013 Royal Rumble Match

By Damian Seeto
Past Royal Rumble Winners
Image from

If there’s something wrong with the past Royal Rumble winners of the past five years or so, is that most of them have been World Champions before. It’s about time someone new wins the Royal Rumble this year so a new main event player is created in the WWE.

Ever since 2007, the Royal Rumble winners have either been established stars already, or just plain disappointments when it came to their match at that year’s WrestleMania.

Let’s look at the past winners of the event since 2007:

2007 – The Undertaker
2008 – John Cena
2009 – Randy Orton
2010 – Edge
2011 – Alberto Del Rio
2012 – Sheamus

The Undertaker winning in 2007 was well received since he’s never won the event before and it had been 10 years prior since he competed at WrestleMania in a championship match. Still, he was obviously a former main event champion.

As for Cena, Orton and Edge, all three men held championship gold multiple times before and them winning the Royal Rumble match seemed unfair for other people on the card that were due for a main event push in my opinion.

Del Rio was actually the last Royal Rumble winner that wasn’t a World Champion before he won the match, but his WrestleMania XXVII match against Edge seemed like a wasted opportunity. Edge won the match cleanly and easily in a 10 minute match that was the first match of the night. Because he lost at WrestleMania, Del Rio’s Royal Rumble win meant absolutely nothing.

Sheamus winning in 2012 is another wrestler that has tasted championship gold before too. Not to mention his whole title reign throughout 2012 was not met with a warm reception with most fans. People started to boo him when he beat Daniel Bryan in only 18 seconds at WrestleMania 28. He did not win too many other fans from then on because of this.

Let’s hope the 2013 Royal Rumble winner is someone fresh that can become a new main event star in the WWE. Someone like Ryback, Wade Barrett or even Dolph Ziggler are all good candidates. WWE better not do what I think they’re going to do and let either Cena or Sheamus win it again…

You May Also Like