Soccer Premier League

Emmanuel Emenike Is Sent Off By Russian Referee For Celebrating Goal

We see red cards in sport all the time. They can be presented for a number of reasons. We’ve seen mass brawls boil over in British Rugby. We’ve seen player lose their head and earn straight red cards for violent conduct in the heat of the moment. We have even seen reds for the calculated attack. Yet, for all of these examples the red was deserved.

With this incident in the Russian soccer match, though, I find it hard to comprehend why striker Emmanuel Emenike has been given his marching orders.

Tapping his arm? The poor guy has been sent off for tapping his forearm immediately after awkwardly knocking the ball into the net? With soccer having enough suggestions of corruption, such bizarre refereeing will not go unnoticed.

The goal itself was fortuitous, but Emenike can be excused for celebrating a goal against famous outfit Zenit St. Petersberg, even if he looks for all the world like he is preparing his arm for something a little more sinister.

The Nigerian striker, who has some six Super Eagles caps to his name, has already seen an appeal against this ridiculous red card being sent in by his club. There is a wait on to see if it shall be rightfully rescinded, but you can never tell with soccer bureaucracy or, indeed, the machinations of the Russian elite.

This goal rendered the game 2-2, but despite being a man down Spartak Moscow came back to win this game 3-2.

Zenit, who have fans favorite Andrei Arshavin on loan from Arsenal, are currently top of the Russian Premier League with Spartak right behind them. With one game left Zenit have claimed the title, but Spartak have a fight on for second place with local rivals CSKA Moscow.