Old Big East to be Known as American 12

To say the Big East conference is a mess is a drastic understatement. The school had 10 members, then 12, then 14, then 12 again and now no one seems to know exactly who is a part of the Big East. A big reason for that is the uncertainty regarding the conference’s name because the seven basketball schools (known as the “Catholic 7“) that are leaving are apparently taking the Big East name with them, so now the “old Big East” is looking for a new name. The one folks thing will stick is the American 12.

Are you confused yet? Well don’t worry because we are too. Basically, the logistics of who is in what conference revolves around football just as much as it does basketball. The seven basketball schools that left won’t affect the American 12 in football, but those schools that are left still need a name and a schedule each fall. Meanwhile, the new Big East (Catholic 7) will be the new powerhouse conference in college basketball. So who’s playing where?

DePaul, Georgetown, Marquette, Providence, Seton Hall, St. John’s and Villanova are the Catholic 7 schools that will be known as the new Big East on July 1. By then, Xavier and Butler will be added to the mix, so they will no longer be the Catholic 7 and officially be the Big East.

Those schools that will remain in the American 12 primarily for football are Central Florida, Cincinnati, Connecticut, East Carolina, Houston, Memphis, South Florida, SMU, Temple, Tulane. We know, it’s only 10, which doesn’t really make sense. However, does anything make sense in all of this?