C.B. Bucknor Shafts the Atlanta Braves with Another Blown Call

C.B. Bucknor

Charles LeClaire-USA TODAY Sports

Well, MLB‘s umpires have done it again. The Atlanta Braves were shafted in the fifth inning of Wednesday night’s game by home-plate umpire C.B. Bucknor. It was after an error that put men on the corners and then a four-pitch walk by Braves’ starting pitcher Alex Wood loaded the bases. Jason Werth put up a decent at-bat until Wood threw a perfect 3-2 pitch that caught Werth looking. Well, so I thought.

Bucknor’s incompetence shined through once again as he called ball four, which blew the shutout, allowing the Washington Nationals to score their first run of the night. Wood didn’t hesitate to exclaim his distaste with the call, but he was saved by his manager Fredi Gonzalez, who took the fall and was ejected arguing the call. It looked like Bucknor knew he blew the call, it almost looked like he was even acknowledging his mistake to Gonzalez, though, I seriously doubt it.

Wood then gave up a sacrifice fly, giving the Nationals a two-run lead in a game where the Braves just couldn’t seem to hit. Roger McDowell pulled Wood from the game after that, Wood made sure to get his money’s worth as he yelled some perfectly called for, but not safe for work, comments toward the mound.

Umpires know that they’ve been bailed out, and it’s only a matter of weeks until they almost never have to endure the wrath of wronged ballplayers. Unfortunately, this kind of call will continue to happen as replays will not be utilized for ball and strike calls.

Bottom line is, Bucknor is the worst umpire in the game and how he still has a job, I cannot fathom.

Related:

No Need For Atlanta Braves to Panic

5 Reasons Why the Atlanta Braves Will Win the World Series

Freddy Garcia is a Shocking Bright Spot for Struggling Atlanta Braves

 

Adam Krentz is an Atlanta Braves writer for RantSports.com. Follow him on Twitter or add him to your network on Google

Around the Web

  • WyattRevolution

    He is the worst! Chipper acknowledges all the time too!

    • Adam Krentz

      I love how Chipper has been open and honest with his thoughts about issues since his retirement.

      • umpirecr

        CHIPPER IS JUST A COMPLETE MORON.

  • trey

    Re: replay for ball/strike calls, the “pitch trax” or whatever that the broadcast used showed the ball was inside. According to replay, it WAS a ball. Clearly, something was off on this machine and is a major reason why we should NEVER have machines calling balls and strikes.

    • Thinger

      And then Uggla was struck out later in the game on a pitch that was nearly identical…except was even farther inside ‘according to the machine’ and that’s why we should NEVER have CB calling balls and strikes.

    • Alan

      Maybe that’s what “pitch trax” showed and for arguments sake, let’s call it a ball. However, what all managers want is that the ump call the zone consistently for both teams. Looking at the side by side comparison of the two pitches, one was called a to Werth and same pitch a strike to Uggla.

      • Ron E. Roberts

        besides, it’s not where the ball is spotted; it’s where it crosses the plate. Pitch trackers don’t tend to show that.

        • Adam Krentz

          Exactly. While the tracker showed the ball was inside, using your eyes you could clearly see that the ball was an obvious strike. Initially, I was actually surprised Werth didn’t swing at it.

  • umpirecr

    bottom line is you fans have no clue the rules have no clue how hard it is to make the call even if they make it right. you STILL DAMN BITCH ABOUT IT