X

Have feedback / suggestions? Let us know!

MLB

Pittsburgh Pirates’ Promotional Schedule: Picking the Best Games

Charles LeClaire-USA TODAY Sports

For around two decades, fans of the Pittsburgh Pirates didn’t have much of
a reason to go to the ballpark other than the food, beer and giveaways.
Due to the recent success, this tradition has become increasingly less
important to most with fans flocking to the games to watch actual quality
baseball being played (on most nights, anyway).  The promotion has simply
been a delightful byproduct.

In any case, here’s a handpicked and categorized list of the best
promotions of 2014 (slight disclaimer – the following games were selected on the basis of promotion alone and not the projected quality of the match-up):

Fireworks Nights
Saturday, April 5 vs. Cardinals
Saturday, April 19 vs. Brewers
Saturday, May 10 vs. Cardinals
Saturday, July 19 vs. Rockies
Saturday, August 9 vs. Padres
Saturday, September 20 vs. Brewers

Concert Nights
Saturday, June 7 vs. Brewers – Goo Goo Dolls
Saturday, August 30 vs. Reds – Gavin DeGraw
Saturday, September 13 vs. Cubs – Lynard Skynard

Bobbleheads
Saturday, May 24 vs. Nationals – Pedro Alvarez Silver Slugger Bobblehead
Saturday, June 28 vs. Mets – Andrew McCutchen N.L. MVP Bobblehead

Kids Days
Sunday, April 6 vs. Cardinals
Sunday, April 20 vs. Brewers
Sunday, May 4 vs. Blue Jays
Sunday, May 11 vs. Cardinals
Sunday, May 25 vs. Nationals
Sunday, June 8 vs. Brewers
Sunday, June 29 vs. Mets
Sunday, July 6 vs. Phillies
Sunday, July 20 vs. Rockies
Sunday, August 10 vs. Padres
Sunday, August 31 vs. Reds
Sunday, September 14 vs. Cubs
Sunday, September 21 vs. Brewers

There are a few writer’s picks as well.  For the parent of the kid whose
life revolves around playing the game, check out the May 25 game against the
Washington Nationals. It’s Kids Day plus kids 14 and younger will receive Andrew McCutchen NL MVP wristbands.  Recalling my childhood, these were the coolest wristbands ever, easily adding a few points to your batting average and some additional range in the field.  For young Gerrit Cole fans, check out the Sept. 14 game against the Chicago Cubs where fans 14 and younger receive a Gerrit Cole Fathead Jr. Wall Decal.

There were a few promotions from previous years apparently discontinued recently, notably the fleece blanket and miniature souvenir Louisville Slugger bat (plastic this year instead of wood) giveaways.

Vinny Gala is a Pittsburgh Pirates writer for RantSports.com.  Follow him on Twitter @VinnyGala.