The story of Game 5 between the Edmonton Oilers and Anaheim Ducks was the miraculous three-goal comeback by Anaheim in the final two minutes and 15 seconds of regulation, but a big overlooked part of that rally was the goaltender interference that went uncalled on the game-tying goal.
A scrum in front of the net led to Ducks forward Ryan Kesler lying on and eventually wrapping his arm around Oilers goalie Cam Talbot‘s pad which prevented him from making the save.
The NHL instituted the goaltender interference rule for this very reason, so the fact that the officials neglected to make the call in this case, even after review, has to be tough for Oilers fans to swallow.
The explanation from the league was that the player was pushed into the goalie, but that hardly seems like a reason for him to hold the netminder’s pad hostage.
Either way, the Oilers must regroup if they want to stave off elimination back on home ice on Sunday night.